Music 05

Today’s soundtrack is

Undisclosed Desires by Muse

Partly just because I really like Muse. And because I think this one is a very beautiful love song – it matches my understanding of love. It is not as restricting and possessive as many others; it lacks this underlying “my world is meaningless without you” message which I think slightly disturbing. Instead it is about accepting, recognising and understanding the person you love (at least that is how I interpret it).

And because I like the rhythm and I felt like listening to a love song.

To emphasise my point, here are the lyrics to the song:

I know you’ve suffered,
But I don’t want you to hide,
It’s cold and loveless,
I won’t let you be denied

Soothing,
I’ll make you feel pure,
Trust me,
You can be sure

I want to reconcile the violence in your heart
I want to recognize your beauty is not just a mask,
I want to exorcise the demons from your past,
I want to satisfy the undisclosed desires in your heart

You trick your lovers,
That you’re wicked and divine,
You may be a sinner,
But your innocence is mine

Please me,
Show me how it’s done,
Tease me,
You are the one

And following that I came across

Resistance, also by Muse and from the same album,

which has a similar tone and is also a very beautiful love song – and since recently, I understand it even better than before.

Again, the lyrics (inspired by George Orwell’s famous novel “1984” – which I have yet to read):

Is our secret safe tonight
And are we out of sight
Will our world come tumbling down?
Will they find our hiding place
Is this our last embrace
Or will the world stop caving in?

It could be wrong
Could be wrong
But it should’ve been right
It could be wrong
Could be wrong
To let our hearts ignite
It could be wrong
Could be wrong
Are we digging a hole
It could be wrong
Could be wrong
This is out of control
It could be wrong
Could be wrong
It can never last
It could be wrong
Could be wrong
Must erase it fast
It could be wrong
Could be wrong
But it could’ve been right
It could be wrong could be

Love is our resistance
They’ll keep us apart they wont stop breaking us down
Hold me
Our lips must always be sealed

If we live our life in fear
I’ll wait a thousand years
Just to see you smile again
Kill the prayers for love and peace
You’ll wake the thought police
We can’t hide the truth inside

Love is our resistance
They’ll keep us apart they wont stop breaking us down
Hold me
Our lips must always be sealed

The night has reached his end
We can’t pretend
We must run
We must run
It’s time to run

Take us away from here
Protect us from further harm
RESISTANCE…

Published by

khyrean

I am a psychology student from Germany with diagnosed asperger's syndrome. I love cats, good smells, things that have interesting surface textures, music and sweets; additionally, I like making macarons, reading, (macro) photography and neurosciences. I found a few quotes which I either like very much or which I think reflect something of my character: /// I understand the concept of humour. It may not be apparent, but I am often amused by human behaviour. - Seven of Nine, Star Trek: Voyager, 4.5 /// I have never understood why it should be necessary to become irrational in order to prove that you care, or indeed why it should be necessary to prove it at all. - Avon Kerr, Blake's Seven /// Science is a differential equation. Religion is a boundary condition. - Alan Turing, Letter to Robin Gandy, 1954 /// We can only see a short distance ahead, but we can see plenty there that needs to be done. - Alan Turing, Computing Machinery and Intelligence, 1950 /// Null magnum ingenium sine mixtura dementiae. - Seneca /// It's human nature to stretch, to go, to see, to understand. Exploration is not a choice, really; it's an imperative. - Michael Collins /// We're still fighting the battles of tomorrow with the weapons of yesterday. - Mahbub ul Haq, Human Development Index

Leave a Reply

